West Side Story 2

As most of my assembly was done yesterday, today was free to do some painting.  I had a scary moment as I ran out of black spray, but then I remembered I still had white from when I made my daughter a Pokémon piñata.  So a few sprays later I had my models primed.  Unfortunately I have realized I was solidly in the black primer camp.  That and this spray was a bit hydrophobic.  Between the bright white and hydro-phobia, it was a frustrating afternoon painting the first three gangers.

Necromunda Leader with slugga converted.

Necromunda Leader with slugga converted.

Necromunda Leader with slugga converted.

Necromunda Leader with slugga converted.

As the ganger leader, this guy naturally had to be one of the first to get painted.  I went with a slightly darker Caucasian/Asian skin tone, but my light has washed that tone out a bit.

In the large picture I see a few touch-ups that are needed.  The astute reader will also notice a few mold lines…and that I didn’t blend the arms into the body with putty.  As these are tabletop minis, and also a bit of a tutorial I wanted to avoid going all out.

In the end I am very happy with how he turned out.  Menacing and still distinct.  He makes a good gang leader for Necromunda I think.  And yes, that is a bright blue belt and bandana.  I have gone with a blue set of colours.  So the gang members will all have blue headbands and a few will have blue belts or straps.

Necromunda ganger with bolt pistol and club converted.

Necromunda ganger with bolt pistol and club converted.

Necromunda ganger with bolt pistol and club converted.

Necromunda ganger with bolt pistol and club converted.

Necromunda ganger with bolt pistol and club converted.

Necromunda ganger with bolt pistol and club converted.

This guy came out very striking I feel.  The out of scale arm is a bit obvious in most angles, but he looks fairly good.  He is also the first model I am showing with sculpting.  I have given him swept back hair and of course the goatee.  My light is still washing out colour as this guy is fairly pale compared to the leader.  Oh well, back to fiddling with the camera settings again.

With the two weapons he has, he will hit fairly hard.  The hammer will count as a club, which gives +1 to his strength in the latest version of Necromunda.  The pistol of course will likely go click the second or third time he fires it, so the Chaos pistol with a belt of ammo is appropriate, I think.  As all models are assumed to have knives in the game, I felt it was appropriate to model it on him as he likely will not be fighting in melee with it once his pistol runs out.

Necromunda ganger with two swords conversion.

Necromunda ganger with two swords conversion.

The last ganger to be painted today is the two sword melee guy.  Again a stock model with no conversions (other than the hand swaps).  I cut three different arms up to get the right arm I wanted, and I am happy with how he turned out.  Menacing with a good melee pose.  Swords are a good weapon in the game, and a model with two is even better at melee.  I could have given him a pistol too, but I decided to not to.  Why?  Well I think he looks more bad-ass and scary if he is carrying swords to a gun fight.

Yet to be named gang showing leader, and two gangers.

Yet to be named gang showing leader, and two gangers.

A short little post with just an update to show the models painted today.  Depending on how tomorrow looks, there might be a bit of break between updates.

Anyhow, hopefully this was inspirational, if nothing else to show you how to use a varied palette while still tying models together.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

