Merry Christmas

Well it is that time of year where people get together and spend time with family and friends.  I hope that you had a most excellent holiday.

Christmas is also the time of year the guy in red comes to visit.  By coincidence, I managed to paint a red guy while cooking a turkey.

Ice Troll by Reaper Miniatures

Ice Troll by Reaper Miniatures

Ice Troll by Reaper Miniatures

Ice Troll by Reaper Miniatures

Ice Troll by Reaper Miniatures

Ice Troll by Reaper Miniatures

Ice Troll by Reaper Miniatures

Ice Troll by Reaper Miniatures

Ice Troll and Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures

Ice Troll and Jolie Female Scribe by Reaper Miniatures

This Reaper Miniature is a supposed to be an Ice Troll.  As they are kind of scarce around these parts (gets too cold for them I think), he didn’t really strike me as an Ice Troll.  Instead, the horns seemed to evoke more of a demonic or devilish image so I went with a red-skinned beast.

Sadly, my photography skills are again lacking.  But, to be fair I spent a half hour fiddling with my camera.  It had the battery out so long it erased all my settings.  So I fumbled around a bit until I could get a passable photo quality.  The depth of my red is not shown, as I spent most of my time trying to get that just right it is a bit demoralizing.  Take my word for it, in ambient light the red has natural shading so hold shadows very well.  The one thing I rushed was the rust.  I think it looks a bit harsh.  I need to go back to experimenting as I seemed to have forgotten my rust wash technique.

As close as we get to an action shot, I have Jolie.  She isn’t too sure what he is, I guess.  Either way it shows the scale of this rather impressive beast.

Hopefully this post was inspirational, if nothing else to get you to put down your phone and go spend time with family and friends.

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

