Bit of progress

Despite officially having this week off of work, I have been into work nearly every day for a few hours.

I have managed to find a bit of time though, and did get a couple of figures painted.

Barrow rat by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow rat by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow rat by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow rat by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow rat by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow rat by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow rat by Reaper Miniatures

Barrow rat by Reaper Miniatures

These two sickly beasts were a bit of a change in direction.  I painted up the sickly flesh, then the boils and patchy fur before I decided I wanted them on bases.

So after all of that, I put them on a cutting board and scuffed up the paint.  I see now the black one did not come away as unscathed as I thought.  The brown one ended-up losing most of the paint on his midsection on both sides.  So I mixed up a similar skin tone and brushed it in with some wet-blending to help the transition.  Not a perfect match, but I think it adds to the character.  In fact, I really like the way the brown one turned out.

I did these up for the RPG campaign as the last session saw the group fleeing from the goblin/bugbear camp with a dozen rescued captives.  I figure now would be the time to unleash some trackers and these rats (and my coyote painted wolf) were a good mix a pathetic goblin pet.  As I painted these I realized they were big enough to be mounts for the Pathfinder Goblins by Reaper.  Since both come in Bones, it is a cheap conversion I may do in the future.

Rogg Bugbear by Reaper Miniatures.

Rogg Bugbear by Reaper Miniatures.

Rogg Bugbear and Bugbear Warrior by Reaper Miniatures.

Rogg Bugbear and Bugbear Warrior by Reaper Miniatures.

Also getting finished is the ominous bugbear leader…Rogg.  The party has not seen him yet, just heard the chanting and fervent mutterings as he was awakened during the raid.  They are a bit worried as they can already tell he will be a tough fight.

I have done slight variations in each of the skin tones for the bugbears to give variety, and I am happy with the effect.  Again, he is just a table-top paint job but something that will get a lot of use in several games as a big bruiser with an even bigger club.

A small sample of Rogg's warband.  All miniatures by Reaper.

A small sample of Rogg’s warband. All miniatures by Reaper.

The game itself has them facing a veritable army of goblins, with about 300 still remaining after the ones they have killed are accounted for.  As they are fairly low-level adventurers, the ensuing fight will be quite climactic.  Even if the party ends up dying, I am sure they will be satisfied.  On the other hand…should they survive (and this is a fairly cunning group) then it will be quite the story…a small group of drifters defending a town against a hostile army.  Can any body say The Seven Samurai/Magnificent Seven?

A short update today, but hopefully inspirational.  The one piece I think that will inspire, is I have started on Cinder, my giant dragon model.  As I am painting by hand with super thin layers of black on black right now, there isn’t much to show…but as it does look better I will definitely be putting that in this space.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Bit of progress”

  1. Subedai says :

    Those plague rats look nasty, well done!

  2. daggerandbrush says :

    I agree. Great brown tones and well executed sickly flesh.

Leave a Reply

